Show menu
 
×

Together
against urinary
incontinence

 
 
 

Description

 

The MUS.I.C. Consortium is funded by the Horizon 2020 program to examine the efficacy and safety of its new treatment approach for urinary incontinence patients. They transplant patient`s own muscle precursor cells from the lower leg into the sphincter of the bladder, followed by training of the pelvic floor. In parallel, new methods are being established within the consortium to make this approach even more efficient and affordable.

The funding from the EU commission allows the MUS.I.C. team to perform a clinical study in Zurich, including 40 female patients suffering from a mild form of incontinence. In this study, the researchers and urologists investigate whether the new therapeutic approach proves to be successful. Specialists from several countries and different medical and scientific disciplines have developed the methodology over the past 10 years. First, the safety, compatibility and effectiveness of the approach are being examined. Furthermore, optimizations are being carried out to: 1) facilitate the manufacture, 2) ensure a production, containing no animal derived components, and 3) develop a new cell-injection technique.

 
 

People’s disease:
urinary incontinence

Provided the therapeutic approach is successful, it will greatly improve the quality of life of many patients. In Switzerland alone, approx. 400`000 people suffer from urinary incontinence. To a large extent, these are women whose bladder muscles are weakened by childbirth, or men who underwent a prostate operation. The currently available treatments counteract the symptoms, but they do not correct the weakened bladder-closing muscle. This is precisely the target-spot of our novel therapy, which aims to strengthen and regenerate the muscle sustainably.

 
 

Fresh cells for the
bladder-closing muscle

The therapy consists in repairing the bladder-closing muscle tissue with patient`s own muscle precursor cells. The whole treatment takes about 2.5 months. In a first step, the physicians obtain a small biopsy from the patient`s lower leg.

 

Step 1

 

The muscle tissue sample has the size of half a sugar cube and derives from a practically non-functional muscle, which is an evolutionary relic.

 

Step 2

 

The muscle precursor cells are extracted from the tissue and expanded for three to four weeks in the laboratory. Subsequently, the researchers mix the cells with the carrier substance collagen.

 

Step 3

 

Finally, the physicians inject the cell-collagen mixture into the bladder-closing muscle of the patient. With the help of ultrasound, the urologists can exactly locate the tip of the needle during injection, which allows for a precise placing of the cells.

 
 

Muscle training
with electromagnetic
stimulation

After the procedure the muscle regeneration of the bladder-closing muscle is further supported by electromagnetic stimulation. For this purpose, the patients will be treated during six weeks in a total of 12 sessions. During the treatments, for which the patients will be sitting on a chair specially developed for thispurpose, the patients feel only a slight tingling. Later, however, it can lead to muscle soreness. The urologists expect initial improvements in the quality of life of the patients approximately three months after the start of treatment.

 
 

Who can take part in the study?

The clinical trial begins in January 2018. We are searching for female patients (20 to 60 years) suffering from stress urinary incontinence, who are candidates for a surgical treatment. Other criteria, that will be discussed further upon request, have to be fulfilled. For more information, please fill in our contact form below:

Menü anzeigen
 
×

Gemeinsam
gegen
Harninkontinenz

 
 
 

Projektbeschreibung

 

Das MUS.I.C. Konsortium erhält vom EU-Förderprogramm Horizon 2020 Gelder, um die Wirksamkeit und Sicherheit ihres neuen Behandlungsansatzes für Patientinnen mit Harninkontinenz zu untersuchen. Dabei verpflanzen sie körpereigene Muskelvorläuferzellen aus dem Unterschenkel in den Schliessmuskel der Blase, mit anschliessendem Training des Beckenbodens. Parallel dazu werden im Konsortium neue Methoden etabliert, um diesen Ansatz noch effizienter zu gestalten.

Die EU-Fördergelder ermöglichen es in Zürich eine klinische Studie mit 40 Patientinnen, die an einer leichten Form von Inkontinenz leiden, durchzuführen. Mit der Studie untersuchen die Forscher und Urologen, ob sich der neue Therapieansatz bewährt, den sie in den letzten zehn Jahren zusammen mit Spezialisten aus mehreren Ländern und unterschiedlichen medizinischen und wissenschaftlichen Disziplinen entwickelt haben. Zunächst wird die Sicherheit, Verträglichkeit und Wirksamkeit des Ansatzes geprüft. Dazu werden Optimierungen durchgeführt, um 1) die Herstellung zu erleichtern 2) eine vollständig xenofreie Produktion sicherzustellen, und 3) eine neue Injektionstechnik zu entwickeln.

 
 

Harninkontinenz – eine Volkskrankheit

Funktioniert die Therapie, wird sie die Lebensqualität von vielen Patientinnen und Patienten massiv verbessern. Allein in der Schweiz leiden geschätzt 400`000 Menschen an Urininkontinenz. Zu einem grossen Teil handelt es sich dabei um Frauen, deren Blasenschliessmuskel durch das Gebären oder durch Abnützung geschwächt ist – oder um Männer, die eine Prostataoperation hinter sich haben. Die heute verfügbaren Behandlungen bekämpfen zwar die Symptome, aber am schwächelnden Schliessmuskel ändern sie nichts. Genau hier setzt die neue Therapie an, die den Muskel nachhaltig stärken und regenerieren möchte.

 
 

Frischzellenkur für den Schliessmuskel

Die Therapie besteht darin, das Blasenschliessmuskelgewebe mit körpereigenen neuen Muskelvorläuferzellen zu reparieren. Die ganze Behandlung erstreckt sich über rund 2.5 Monate.

 

Schritt 1

 

In einem ersten Schritt entnehmen die Ärzte Muskelgewebe aus der Wade der Patientinnen. Das Gewebe hat die Grösse eines halben Zuckerwürfels und stammt von einem Muskel, der ein evolutionäres Relikt darstellt und im Körper keine Funktion mehr übernimmt.

 

Schritt 2

 

Aus dem entnommenen Material werden im Labor die Vorläuferzellen herausgefiltert, die im Inkubator während drei bis vier Wochen vermehrt werden. Schliesslich vermengen die Forscher die Zellen mit der Trägersubstanz Kollagen.

 

Schritt 3

 

Die Ärzte spritzen die Mischung mit rund einem Dutzend Injektionen in den Blasenschliessmuskel der Patientinnen. Dank Ultraschall sehen die Urologen während der Einspritzung genau, wo sich die Nadelspitze befindet, was eine punktgenaue Platzierung der Zellen ermöglicht.

 
 

Muskeln trainieren
mit elektromagnetischer
Stimulation

Nach dem Eingriff wird die Muskelbildung im Schliessmuskel durch elektromagnetische Stimulation gefördert. Dazu lassen sich die Patientinnen während sechs Wochen in insgesamt 12 Sitzungen behandeln. Sie sitzen dabei auf einem eigens für diesen Zweck entwickelten Stuhl. Während der Behandlung spüren die Patientinnen nur ein leichtes Kribbeln. Später kann aber es aber zu Muskelkater kommen. Erste Verbesserungen der Lebensqualität der Patientinnen erwarten die Forscher rund drei Monate nach dem Behandlungsbeginn.

 
 

Wer darf teilnehmen?

Die Studie beginnt im Januar 2018. Es können weibliche Personen (zwischen 20 und 60 Jahre) teilnehmen, die an Harninkontinenz leiden und Kandidatinnen für chirurgischen Eingriff sind. Es müssen weitere Kriterien, die wir dann erfragen, erfüllt sein. Wünschen Sie weitere Informationen, bitten wir Sie mit uns Kontakt aufzunehmen: